FEBRUARY 2019 FAVORITES

I’ve been meaning to make lists of some of my favorite things since maybe June 2018 but it hasn’t happened until now!

I’ve fallen in love with a lot of things this month, so I really had to edit this list down or else I’d have 1000 things to share. So here we go!

Movies: How to Train Your Dragon 3: The Hidden World

This movie series actually redefined my entire career and taught me a lot about who I am as a person. I actually wanted to go to the very first showing but I had to wait a bit for some free time and I ended up watching it super late at night by myself in a kind of sketchy theater. I really don’t want to say anything to spoil this movie (or the entire series if anyone hasn’t watched it, in which case, please do!), so I’ll just say that I was on a rollercoaster of emotions in the best way. My heart is so full just thinking about Hiccup and the crew. I will admit that this movie wasn’t as impactful as the first one, but really, nothing really ever is. It was a very satisfying end to a beautiful trilogy that dealt with a lot of different situations and built a ton of character development, so I’m ecstatic for where it ended.

Books: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Station Eleven is a glimpse of a post-apocalyptic (?) world if 99.9% of the world’s population was wiped out from a contagious and deadly disease today. There’s no science fiction or fantasy elements to it; just a mutated virus that spreads at insane levels due to the connectivity allowed by today’s technology.

This book was actually kind of spectacular, in the sense that I’m still thinking about it. It’s a little complicated to follow along, which really messed me up while reading, but in the end, I know the base storyline, and that in itself is intriguing enough, so the next time I go through it, I’ll be able to really notice all of the details. Check out some of my other books in my book list!

Music: February Faves Playlist

I know a lot of these songs aren’t that recent but these are the ones that spoke to me recently, so here they are!

From June to January by 015B & Yangpa
%% (Eung Eung) by APink
Lost by BTS
Something’s Gotta Give by Camila Cabello
My Day by Day6
Monday Blues by EXO-CBX
It’s You by Henry Lau
I Miss You by Hyorin
Hangsang (항상) by J-Hope & Supreme Boi
BAAM by Momoland
Shoot Out by Monsta X
High Hopes by Panic! At The Disco
seoul by RM
Lies (거짓말) covered by Lee Soojung (Crystal Yi / Chai) – Originally by g.o.d (a classic!)

Design: Meg Robichaud

Meg is a vector illustrator with fluidity and a lot of wit. I’ve read many of her articles in the past and been inspired by them, but I’ve only just now realized that they’re all by her!

She wrote a really great piece about representation in product illustrations (You Can’t Just Draw Purple People and Call It Diversity) and also many others with great tips on how to survive in this industry. “We kept drawing people with dark skin and they just looked like white people with purple skin. I don’t know what that says about us— hopefully just that drawing is hard; maybe something about the demographics of Canada; definitely something about the demographics of our team. We quickly learned: if you want to be inclusive, you need to illustrate different people, not different attributes.”

Her articles are full of meaning and she comes off as a friend who will slap your arm and call you girl, and she is a joy to learn from.

Entertainment: Samuel J. Comroe

I’ve been addicted to America’s Got Talent since… middle school? I’m always very intrigued by all of the contestants, and while there things that I find iffy about the show and whatnot, it’s really a great way to find your new favorite talent. Samuel J. Comroe is a comedian that brings a breath of a fresh air with his content and delivery.

This was a really great season full of talent and inspiration, so here’s a some more of my favorites (as if I don’t have enough):

Junior New System – Dance group (with a fabulous twist!)
Michael Ketterer – Vocalist (and overall inspiring and simply good person)
Shin Lim – Close up Magician (who is amazing! and a little sensual but still amazing!)
Zurcaroh – Dance group (with beautiful form and direction)
Brian King Joseph – Violinist (full of joy of doing what he loves beyond unfortunate situations)
Vicki Barbolak – Comedian (and also the creator of a “wedding in a van” service!)
Daniel Emmet – Classical singer (with the purest of hearts and it shows through his singing)

Beauty: L’Oréal Paris Colorista Semi-Permanent Hair Color (Soft Pink)

What a mouthful! I saw this at Target (of course) back in August of 2018, and I’ve held on to it all this time, until I decided to go for it! It’s aimed towards bleached or light blonde hair for visible results. I’d say my hair was on the cusp between light and medium blonde that I was a little worried I wouldn’t have any pink, especially since the soft pink is noticeably paler than any of their other colors. But I think it ended up looking good and I really like the fact that it lasts a little while and then changeable, so I’m looking forward to doing this pretty often! Another one for temporary hair colors is Missha 7 Days Coloring Hair Treatment. I’ve used this one in the past with my dark brown hair, and the red came out great! It lasted a little less than 2 weeks for me, and it’s quite cheap so I still have a couple of different colors stocked up!

Fashion: MVE ankle boots

I bought these shoes on a whim (as I do with all my purchases, oops!) because I wanted to get a more heels that I could wear to work. I got a maroon color, which is already very out of my comfort zone with footwear (I tend to stick with black, white, and sometimes a blush pink), and it also was higher than I expected.

They ended up being a tad more fabulous than what I originally thought, but it was one of those moments where I questioned myself in why I cared. The shoes themselves are pretty great (they fit great, they’re comfortable, they’re a nice style) and they’re a boost of confidence for tiny girls like me~

TV: This Is Us

This is a show that is not new, but the recent episode about Beth and her growing up had me so rattled that I have to include this here! This Is Us has never shyed away from important topics, such as strained familial relationships and inclusion from all sorts of angles (race, weight, class, etc.), but I’m so glad that they touched on the topic of a big career move. It’s easy to put blame on others for not ending up where you had wanted when you were a child, but it showed that it’s never really too late for anything.

Bonus: Rabbit Ushanka

I can’t find the actual one that I got, but here is a similar one! It’s getting really popular in the K-Pop world recently, and I stumbled on it on YesStyle and I guess I wasn’t paying attention because it ended up in my cart and then at my door. It’s super soft and has a little pump on the flaps that will make the ears pop up and down. Definitely not the typical 22 year old look but it’s super cute and it’s certainly my aesthetic. “A quality purchase imo” – Rena

Leave a comment